Start Point, Things Done …

Posted: 05/08/2012 in Uncategorized

Welcome to my Arcade Cabinet Blog.

The idea > Convert  a non-working drving cab to a Sega Model 2/3 emulated PC Arcade Cabinet.

The notion for this blog has come at a point where my project is already underway. Here’s what has gone before;

I bought a non-working Cruis’n USA upright driving arcade machine (eBay – £50);

After a bit of investigation work I found the Game PCB to be shot as well as the monitor.

The monitor, a Wells Gardner U5000 (which is prone to all kinds of problems) had some serious screen burn anyway.

Another Monitor was the only realistic option. Enter the Sanwa 29E31S; (eBay- £90)

The seller actually gave me a free Ipac as well, which may come in handy depending on how I interface everything.

I stripped out the cab from the unwanted wiring and parts, retaining the driving controls, coin mech/door, service panel, coin meter, marquee light and speakers.

I’ve primarily setup a PC which I had lying about with Sega Model 2 and Sega Model 3 Emulators and connected up the monitor to the PC via VGA cable @ 640 x 480 resolution.

Parts ordered and received but yet to be configured:

– Immersion Dual A2 Touchsense Force-Feedback PCB (USA eBay – £50)

Parts ordered but not received yet:

– 24v Power Supply for Immersion Dual A2 Touchsense Force-Feedback PCB (Hong Kong eBay – £10),

– Push Buttons & Speaker Amp PCB (Ultracabs – £20)

– Cam Locks & Coin Door Lamp (Swallow Amusements – £15)

Parts to be ordered:

– Custom Marquee

– T-molding

So thats roughly where I am with the project so far. The next immediate steps are to interface the driving controls and FFB motor to PC with the Immersion PCB and make a start on the cab cosmetically….

Leave a comment