Light … End … Tunnel …

Posted: 30/09/2012 in Uncategorized

I’m getting fairly close to completion now, but one thing I did say to myself when this project started was “…Your going to have days when things go backwards…” and Friday was one of those days.

I got all the components in and wired up and although it looks like Spaghetti Junction in the back, everything worked.

So Friday I wired in an Earth Wire to all the Metal Parts of the Cab and Wired the Pushbutton LEDs in. I fired up the cab, the Pushbuttons light up but when I get to the HyperSpin Frontend Game Menu none of the Controls are working!! … 😦

By the end of the night (well… early morning) and after re-installing Immersion drivers, re-configuring the I-PAC (which now won’t keep the programmed mappings after a reboot!!)  and adpating the Start-up script to map the buttons instead, We’re back on course apart from one thing: The Throttle isn’t working! … I’ve narrowed it down to a Hardware issue and investigation work continues tommorow.

The most annoying thing is I have no idea why the problems started but refer to the saying in Paragragh 1 of this post and move on.

Things to do to Complete Project;

– Fit Control Panel Overlays (Awaiting Delivery, Zazzle – £8)

– Cut and Fit Acrylic Control Panel Covers  (eBay – £4)

– Paint Shifter Plate

– Adapt, Paint and Fit Monitor Bezel

– Fit Marquee (Awaiting Delivery, EMDKAY (USA) – £20)

– Order, Cut and Fit Acrylic for Marquee

– Clean up and Re-Fit Rubber Matting and Kick-Plate

Pictures and Videos to Follow on completion.

EDIT – OCT 1st

We are back to full throttle – I checked all connections and they were fine, but one of the cables from the throttle pot lacked continuity so replaced the cable and bingo problem solved. My guess is that the cable had slight wear and when I’ve tied it to the new earth cable it has caused it to break.

I’ve now also backed the cab into its long-term home position (The Game-Room), Since now all the work left to do is on the front of the cab. Luckily it only needed moving about 4 metres and through only 1 doorway, as it’s an absolute beast of a weight with everything in it.

Leave a comment